State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness

STAAR replaced the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) in the spring of 2012. The STAAR program at grades 3–8 assess the subjects listed below:

  • Grade 3 - reading and mathematics (English and Spanish versions)

  • Grade 4 - reading and mathematics (English and Spanish versions)

  • Grade 5* - reading, mathematics, and science (English and Spanish versions)

  • Grade 6 - reading and mathematics

  • Grade 7 - reading and mathematics

  • Grade 8* - reading, mathematics, science and social studies

TEA Links

High School

At high school, subject-specific assessments will include 5 end-of-course (EOC) assessments: Algebra I, biology, English I (R&W), English II (R&W), and U.S. history.

  • Grade 9 - STAAR EOC - algebra I, English I, biology

  • Grade 10- STAAR EOC- English II

  • Grade 11-STAAR EOC- U.S. History

STAAR - Alternate (STAAR-Alt)

STAAR–Alt is an alternate assessment based on alternate academic achievement standards and is designed for students with significant cognitive disabilities who meet the participation requirements. STAAR –Alt is administered in the same grades and subjects as STAAR.

For more information, refer to the special education assessments webpage.


Texas English Language Proficiency Assessment System

In response to the federal testing requirement of the No Child Left Behind Act of 2001, the Texas Education Agency developed an assessment system called TELPAS. This system consists of reading tests and holistically rated assessments of listening, speaking, reading (for K-1 students), and writing. TELPAS is designed to assess the progress that limited English proficient (LEP) students make in learning the English language.

Under NCLB, states’ English language proficiency assessments must assess students annually in kindergarten through twelfth grade in four language domains: listening, speaking, reading, and writing. TELPAS assesses the following language domains.

  • Grades K–2 listening, speaking, reading, writing

  • Grades 3–12 listening, speaking, writing, reading

The domain of reading in Grades 3–12 is assessed through a multiple choice test. Together, the reading test and the holistically rated listening, speaking, reading and writing assessments provide performance data used to fulfill state and federal reporting requirements. TELPAS reports student performance in terms of four English language proficiency levels: beginning, intermediate, advanced, and advanced high.

TELPAS is administered to all eligible LEP students, including LEP students who do not participate in a bilingual or English as a second language (ESL) program because of a parental denial.

For more information, refer to the TELPAS webpage.

Your browser is out-of-date.

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

At this time the Frisco ISD website requires Internet Explorer 9 or later.

If you are on IE 9 or later and are seeing this error then your browser may be running as a previous version.