School bus drivers hired by the Frisco ISD Transportation Department must meet the following standards:
Motor Vehicles Record Check
A bus driver’s driving record must be acceptable according to the standards developed by the Department of Public Safety and the Frisco ISD. A pre-employment driver license check is required for school bus drivers in Texas. This check covers the driver’s motor vehicle record (accidents, tickets, etc) for the past three years.
Frisco ISD maintains a procedure that no new employee may be hired with more than five penalty points within the last three years. No one may drive a school bus if their driving record shows 10 or more penalty points during the three year period prior to the current driving year.
Once hired by FISD, a motor vehicle records check is conducted semi-annually to monitor assessed points.
Criminal History Record Check
All potential employees are subject to a criminal history record check. Criminal history must be acceptable according to standards developed by Frisco ISD and state law.
Annual Physical Examination
“It shall be unlawful for any person to be employed to drive a motor vehicle while in use as a school bus for the transportation of pupils who has not undergone a physical examination which reveals physical and mental capabilities to safely operate a school bus.” All school bus drivers must complete a Texas Department of Public Safety physical examination before driving students in an FISD vehicle or be subject to suspension, without pay.
Job applicants are required to undergo drug and alcohol testing before they are hired.
Random drug testing is done every month. This testing includes all drivers, coaches, mechanics, and office staff. We also drug test after accidents and when a driver returns to duty from medical leave.
Transportation employees receive initial and continuous training to enhance their skill.
The Transportation Department is committed to continuously improving our service through the education of our employees. All of our Training Specialists have been certified by the Texas Engineering Extension Service (TEEX) at Texas A&M University as school bus driver trainers. All new applicants spend a minimum of 12 hours driving time to prepare for their Commercial Driver’s License test. Additionally, applicants are required to undergo 4 hours of safety video training, 3 hours of classroom training, and an additional 8-10 hours training on their assigned route.
School Bus Driver Certification
Successful completion of the Texas School Bus Driver Safety Training Certification course is mandatory.
School bus drivers shall have in their possession a certificate indicating enrollment in or completion of the 20-hour course. Drivers are responsible for renewing their certification every three years by completing an eight-hour refresher course.
Additionally, FISD requires all school bus drivers to maintain a current American Heart Association certification for CPR and First Aid. Recertification occurs every two years
Special Needs Training
Special Needs drivers receive additional training in order better serve the students requiring this service. A basic course in student management, route driving, student loading and unloading, and wheelchair securement is provided. Additional specialized training for individual students is offered as needed.
Evaluation and Retraining
The Transportation Department routinely evaluates driver performance and incorporates training into the process. Drivers are observed and given feedback and direction to enhance operational skills.
Drivers performing below expected levels are retrained. A driver trainer is assigned to the individual and provides one-to-one interaction to assure improved performance.
Additionally, drivers are retrained after being involved in any type of accident.