38 Drum Majors Lead Award-Winning Marching Bands

Oct 15, 2021

Across Frisco ISD, high school marching band students are in the thick of what is commonly referred to as “Bandtober.” Each week, students at all eleven high schools can be heard practicing each morning and evening in preparation for a myriad of marching contests that fill the month.

At the front of each band are student leaders who can be found perched on their podiums guiding students as they set the tempo, execute clear preparations and beats, and control the interpretation and pacing of the music. These drum majors unify the band both on and off the field.

In some districts with fewer high schools and larger bands, there are a few select drum majors. However, Frisco ISD and its community are committed to providing students with a student-opportunity model that has evolved into eleven preeminent marching band programs.

This makes Frisco ISD a powerhouse District that is renowned for its marching programs across the state. In the fall of 2022, Panther Creek High School will open and it will not be long until we have another award-winning campus. Learn about which neighborhoods are proposed to attend Panther Creek.

The District has eleven marching bands led by 38 student leaders who have accepted the responsibility as a drum major for the 2021-22 school year. Congratulations to these students who go above and beyond and represent their school and band with pride.

Centennial High School - Director Andrew Rein

Centennial High School. 

Emerson High School - Director Bryn Roberts

Emerson High School 

Frisco High School - Director David Simon

Frisco High School. 

Heritage High School - Director Jason Prasifka

Heritage High School. 

Independence High School - Director Hunter Bown

Independence High School. 

Lebanon Trail High School - Director Kelly Wykoff

Lebanon Trail High School. 

Liberty High School - Director James Weaver

Liberty High School. 

Lone Star High School - Director Mark Poole

Lone Star High School. 

Memorial High School - Director Jason Nitsch

Memorial High School. 

Reedy High School - Director Gavin Smith

Reedy High School. 

Wakeland High School - Director Tanner Smith 

Wakeland High School.
Your browser is out-of-date.

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

At this time the Frisco ISD website requires Internet Explorer 9 or later.

If you are on IE 9 or later and are seeing this error then your browser may be running as a previous version.