Students Dazzle at Annual District Spelling Bee

Jan 28, 2021

District Bee Finalists 2020-21

While the annual District spelling competition looked a little different this year, the anticipation and amount of preparation involved was just as monumental as ever. Students in grades 4-8 from Frisco ISD elementary and middle schools prepared for months for the District spelling bee at Reedy High School held last week.

This year, the District bee was conducted through the Scripps online testing platform which means there were no rounds or a traditional “champion word.” The online test was a 30-minute timed assessment and consisted of 25 spelling questions and 25 vocabulary questions. This platform ensured that all students could participate safely and is consistent with what can be expected at subsequent competitions.

The top six finalists from the District Spelling Bee will attend the Collin County Bee on Feb. 11 at Lawler Middle School. The top four spellers from Collin County will advance to the Dallas Regional Spelling Bee to be held on March 19.

Congratulations to the top scoring students listed below and all 39 students who were able to compete at the District level. Best of luck at the Collin County Bee!

Top Finishers

  • Fowler Middle School - Avishree Dutta, 6th grade

  • Hunt Middle School - Ariyana Puri, 8th grade

  • Nelson Middle School - Subanth Nanda Kumar, 7th grade

  • Nichols Elementary School - Anirudh Kidambi, 5th grade

  • Pearson Middle School - Stuti Menon, 8th grade

  • Roach Middle School - Samarth Khurana, 7th grade

Campus Winners

Anderson Elementary - Rodrigo Carmona Altimari
Boals Elementary - Shiloh Aris
Clark Middle - Shree Redekarpatil
Cobb Middle - Pratyush Shukla
Elliott Elementary - Aradhana Perumbala
Fisher Elementary - Jacob Hariaczyi
Griffin Middle - Avishi Pandya
Hosp Elementary - Tanvi Karella
Isbell Elementary - Samhith Akkineni
Lawler Middle - Rithvik Avula
Liscano Elementary - Aarna Balaji
Maus Middle - Serena Manaloor
Newman Elementary - Ria Shankar
Norris Elementary - Varshika Gandikota
Ogle Elementary - Anaya Goyal
Pioneer Heritage Middle - Nikhil Reddy
Purefoy Elementary - Joshua Kim
Riddle Elementary - Thejasree Mohana
Robertson Elementary - Charlotte Heard
Rogers Elementary - Alexander Agera
Scoggins Middle - Rishi Nemmani
Scott Elementary - Travis Reily
Sem Elementary - Sania Taher
Shawnee Trail Elementary - Dev Srivatsan
Sparks Elementary - Nidhi Vijayaraghavan
Staley Middle - Tori Bailey
Tadlock Elementary - Saranya Bezawada
Talley Elementary - Anirudh Hariharan
Taylor Elementary - Sanjana Nayak
Trent Middle - Saanvi Vinod
Vandeventer Middle - Dhwani Mittal
Vaughn Elementary - Aditya Kothuri
Wester Middle - Alisha Khan

Your browser is out-of-date.

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

At this time the Frisco ISD website requires Internet Explorer 9 or later.

If you are on IE 9 or later and are seeing this error then your browser may be running as a previous version.