Students Recognized by Scholastic Press Association

Dec 08, 2020

Heritage and Liberty high schools have been recognized by the National Scholastic Press Association for the hard work of their student journalism programs. 

Students from around the country submitted published stories, photos and video clips in hopes of recognition. Entries were judged by teams of professionals with media-related experience and expertise in the area of each particular contest. The judges analyzed the stories for coverage and content, writing and reporting, leadership, design, photography and graphics. 

Winners of the NSPA Pacemaker and Individual Awards were announced during the JEA/NSPA Fall National High School Journalism Convention in a virtual awards ceremony.

Congratulations to these students and their programs which received recognition:

Multimedia News Story

  • Aaron Boehmer, a senior at Liberty High School, received third place in the Digital Story of the Year’s Multimedia News Story category. Boehmer’s “Casting Ballots: The Politics of Voting” spotlighted the topic of voting, youth participation, bipartisanship, compromise and the implications of gerrymandering.


  • Ashvita Girish, Liberty High School junior, received an honorable mention in the Digital Story of the Year Blog category for her work on “Goodbye Gluten.” Girish supplied a diverse series of gluten-free recipes rooted in her personal journey taking gluten out of her diet.

Broadcast Sports Story  

  • Walker Shippy, a Liberty High School graduate, received an honorable mention in the Broadcast Story of the Year Broadcast Sports Story category. Shippy’s report “Redhawks Win to End 20 Game Losing Streak” celebrated a win that was dedicated to the legacy of the Class of 2020 seniors.

News Story

Best of Show

Heritage High School's two print publications took home second place Best of Show awards at the JEA/NSPA National High School Journalism Convention. 

  • “The Tribute” 2020 Yearbook won second place in the 288-224-page category. Editors Avery Braune and Alexis Llamas led the staff of 20 during the 2019-20 school year to complete the 224-page annual book. 

  • “The Print” Newsmagazine's Volume 2, Issue 1 entitled "Gen Z: Who We Are" also placed second in the Newspaper/Newsmagazine Special Edition category. The newsmagazine features stories from reporters, photographers, designers and editors about voting rights of young people, coming of age, racial inequality education and mental health. 

The full list of winners can be found on the NSPA website.

Your browser is out-of-date.

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

At this time the Frisco ISD website requires Internet Explorer 9 or later.

If you are on IE 9 or later and are seeing this error then your browser may be running as a previous version.