Middle School Theatrical Students Shine at UIL Contests

Feb 28, 2020

Middle school students have been busy this winter preparing and performing one act plays for the annual UIL One Act Play contest. Preparations are extensive, including set design, costume design, hair and makeup design and marketing. Without these key moving parts under the guidance of superb leadership, students would not be able to step onto the stage with confidence.

UIL One Act Play and Theatrical Design contests are extremely competitive in the area. The students and their directors are to be commended on the awards they have taken home this winter.

Middle School UIL One Act Play District Contest 

All 17 Frisco ISD middle schools competed in the One Act Play Zone Contest in early February. Only six of those schools advanced to the District Contest. On February 15, a panel of three adjudicators decided the best of the best plays from the 2019-20 school year and awarded campuses and students a number of recognitions.

Middle Schools that Advanced to District
Cobb Middle School - “King Stag”
Pioneer Heritage Middle School - “Love is a Hot Fudge Sundae”
Scoggins Middle School - “Peter and the Starcatcher”
Stafford Middle School - “Epic Proportions”
Trent Middle School - “Property Rites”
Wester Middle School - “Lafayette No 1”

District One Act Play Final Ranking
1st Place - Scoggins
2nd Place - Trent
3rd Place - Stafford 

Best Performer Award
Emma Corbell - Trent
Nathan Olliges - Scoggins 

Best Crew Award
Trent Middle School

All Star Technician Award
Lauren Bangs - Trent
Lily Bhaskar - Pioneer Heritage
Delaney McClure - Stafford
Perry Penz - Wester
Nathan Vehslage - Cobb
Ben Tinkler - Scoggins 

All Star Cast Acting Awards
Kwasi Boamah - Wester
Matthew Carson - Wester
Samantha Imena - Stafford
Falyn Lott - Trent
Kahlyn Molitor - Scoggins
Austin Schultz - Stafford
David Trejo - Cobb
Ava Waak - Pioneer Heritage 

Honorable Mention Acting Awards
Cruz Albuquerque - Pioneer Heritage
Mayesa Arora - Pioneer Heritage
Alex Fish - Trent
Tobias Gullage - Scoggins
Michael Miller - Cobb
Jody Pinfard - Cobb
Nora Regan - Scoggins
Max Threlkeld - Stafford 

Middle School UIL Theatrical Design Contest

Out of 100 middle school designers across the District, these are the top designs in each category. Congratulations to these student designers who are recognized for their incredible talent.

Set Design
Olivia Berry - Fowler
Marissa Graff - Stafford
Jenna Kim - Stafford
Beatrice Levin - Fowler
Eshanni Sathishkumar - Roach 

Costume Design
Ivana Bilic - Pioneer Heritage
Lily Cothran - Trent
Carly Demaris - Roach
Logan Robertson - Maus
Silvia Torres Rodarte - Stafford 

Marketing Design
Moliha Baker - Roach
Lily Cothran - Trent
Sahasra Gutta - Pearson
Mackenzie Le - Trent
Kam Meyerson - Fowler 

Hair/Makeup Design
Samyuktha Angara - Vandeventer
Lily Cothran - Trent
Zoe Garcia - Cobb
Bella Goushey - Trent
Valeria Ramos Nazario - Fowler 

Your browser is out-of-date.

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

At this time the Frisco ISD website requires Internet Explorer 9 or later.

If you are on IE 9 or later and are seeing this error then your browser may be running as a previous version.