Skip To The Main Content

National Scholastic Press Association Names FISD Finalists

Oct 28, 2019

The National Scholastic Press Association (NSPA) has announced its finalists for the 2019 Broadcast of the Year and Digital Story of the Year including students from Independence, Lebanon Trail, Liberty and Wakeland high schools.

“In every category, the number and the quality of the entries increased from last year,” said Gary Lundgren, associate director and contest coordinator.

All the finalists will be recognized and winners announced at the NSPA National High School Journalism Convention, Nov. 21-24, 2019, in Washington, D.C., during the NSPA awards ceremony. 

First- through fifth-place winners will be announced in each category and will receive plaques. Five honorable mention winners will receive certificates.

Congratulations to these students who were recognized as finalists and best of luck in November.

Broadcast of the Year Finalists

Broadcast News Story
A Sense of Urgency
Jared Gonzalez-Yapp, 2019 Wakeland High School graduate
Morgan Rhodes, 2019 Independence High School graduate
Jake Steele, 12th grade Lebanon Trail High School

Broadcast Sports Story
Game Pink for a Cause
Jared Gonzalez-Yapp, 2019 Wakeland High School graduate
Jake Steele, 12th grade Lebanon Trail High School scho

Digital Story of the Year Finalists

Destination Health
Katharina Santos, 2019 Liberty High School graduate

Multimedia News Story Package
Clearing the air: A special report on teens and vaping
Lucas Barr, 12th grade Liberty High School

See the full list of NSPA Individual Award Finalists here.

Your browser is out-of-date.

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

At this time the Frisco ISD website requires Internet Explorer 9 or later.

If you are on IE 9 or later and are seeing this error then your browser may be running as a previous version.