World-Class Student Journalists Gain Numerous Recognitions

May 31, 2019

Journalism teachers across the District lead students produce award-winning, innovative campus news websites, broadcasts, yearbooks and podcasts.

Student journalists follow story leads across the state, report on every sport and even interview celebrities on red carpets. These students have regular interaction and access to journalists across DFW as they seek to learn more about the craft.

Journalism students have won numerous recognitions from Jostens, the Columbia Scholastic Press Association and the National Scholastic Press Association. Listed below are recent accomplishments although it is clear there are more to come.

National Scholastic Press Association

Liberty High School’s online newspaper, Wingspan, has been recognized on numerous fronts including by the National Scholastic Press Association. Wingspan was named a finalist for the Online Pacemaker Award in the fall and won the coveted award this spring. Congratulations Brian Higgins and his team of students who strive to provide consistent and thorough coverage of Liberty High School.

UIL Interscholastic Press League Press Conference

The UIL offers journalism contests through its scholastic press organization, Interscholastic League Press Conference (ILPC) through four journalism contests - news writing, feature writing, editorial writing and headline writing. ILPC members compete in yearbook, newspaper (both print and web-based), broadcast and documentary competitions.

Star Awards
(Broadcast) Gold Star: WTV Daily Update, Liberty High School
(Online) Silver Star: Wingspan, Liberty High School
(Broadcast) Silver Star: Coyote Nation TV, Heritage High School

Yearbook Ratings
Centennial High School, Achievement
Frisco High School, Achievement
Independence High School, Achievement
Reedy High School, Distinguished Merit

Yearbook Individual Achievement Awards
Captions: Lauren Hubbard, Frisco High School
Infographic: Carolina Pereira and Taylor Ellison, Independence High School
Photo Portfolio: Greyson Sierp, Frisco High School
Theme Selection and Development: Bella Mendiola, Jadon Law, Jessica Duvall and Jimena Pinzon, Heritage High School

Online Newspaper Ratings
Liberty High School’s Wingspan, Distinguished Merit

Online Individual Achievement Awards
Editorial Writing: Staff, Liberty High School
Sports News Story: Kasey Harvey, Liberty High School
Feature Writing: Aliza Porter, Liberty High School
Sports Column: Aviance Pritchett, Liberty High School
In Depth News/Feature Package: Aaron Boehmer, Katharina Santos, Liberty High School
Student Artwork/Cartoon: Lexie Laviolete, Liberty High School

Broadcast Ratings
Heritage High School’s Coyote Nation TV, Distinguished Merit
Liberty High School’s WTV Daily Update, Distinguished Merit

Broadcast Individual Achievement Awards
General Feature Writing: Darrin Sohm, CTEC
General Sports Writing: Kate Furney, CTEC
Sports Feature Story: Giullian Canalas, CTEC
Sports Feature Story: Kennedy McGilvery, CTEC
Special Coverage: Madison McFarlane, Lauren Goodman and Josh Laulom, CTEC
Special Coverage: Isabella Santiago, Liberty High School
Anchor Team Presentation: Maya Aridi, Ashton Eades, Amrita Sundaresan and Isabelle Milford, Heritage High School

National Federation of Press Women

The Career and Technical Education Center’s Frisco ISD-TV was named 1st Place Winner in the Best Newscast: Radio or Television category for the 2019 National Federation of Press Women (NFPW) National High School Communications Contest. After winning 1st Place at the state level in the Press Women of Texas contest, the program moved up and garnered top honors at the national level. Congratulations to the team for the well-deserved recognition for  Frisco ISD-TV (Episode #085).

A number of students were recognized with the NFPW state affiliate Press Women of Texas. Congratulations to these well-deserved honors:

Best Newscast: Radio or Television
Amrita Sundaresan & Isabelle Milford, Heritage High School
Brianna Flores & Sahana Patel, Heritage High School

Video News Story
Jake Steele, CTEC
Mardi Cargile, Jared Gonzalez-Yapp, CTEC
Kyle Bradford, CTEC
Brianna Flores, Heritage High School

Video Feature Story
Jared Gonzalez-Yapp, CTEC
Madison McFarlane, CTEC

Video Sports Story
Kate Furney, CTEC
Sahana Patel, Heritage High School

Radio/Television Interview or Talk Show
Ashton Eades, Heritage High School
Brianna Flores, Heritage High School

Your browser is out-of-date.

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

At this time the Frisco ISD website requires Internet Explorer 9 or later.

If you are on IE 9 or later and are seeing this error then your browser may be running as a previous version.