Students to Compete at Destination Imagination (DI) Global Finals

May 15, 2018

Smith Elementary Awesm Posse DI Team

Seven teams of Frisco ISD students qualified to compete at the Destination Imagination (DI) Global Finals, the world’s largest celebration of student creativity.

The event, held May 23-26 in Knoxville, Tenn., will feature more than 1,400 of the top-scoring DI teams from 45 U.S. states and 14 countries.

Destination Imagination is a parent-led program in which students develop solutions to problem-based challenges in the fields of science, technology, engineering and math (STEM), fine arts and service learning. Students collaborate to develop creative, innovative solutions, which are presented at tournaments.

Twenty FISD teams competed in the Texas DI Affiliate Tournament in April in Mansfield. Good luck to the following teams that qualified for Globals based on their performance at state:

Hosp Elementary - Team Lightning Inventors

Second Place - Technical Challenge: Maze Craze
Students - Arnav Raghuvanshi, Ayan Raghuvanshi, Adiya Gosain, Evan McCoy, Aashna Bhatnagar, Siddhanth Pinapala and Diya Balagopal
Parent Team Manager - Shubha Raghuvanshi

Isbell Elementary - Team Peculiar Perfectionists

Fourth Place (Tie) - Technical Challenge: Maze Craze
Students - Srishti Shetty, Aditi Shah, Jonathan Ryu, Gannon Sanders and Katherine Meeks
Parent Team Managers - Namrata Shetty and Sandeep Shah

Lebanon Trail and Liberty high schools - Team The Apocalyptic TeDI Bears

Fifth Place - Engineering Challenge: Drop Zone
Students - Arianna Bohara, Aarti Aravapalli, Deepti  Aravapalli, Sonika Rao, Vedant Nair and Nitish Harpawat
Parent Team Manager - Vinay Bohara

Reedy High School - Team Dusty Tesseracts of Llamacorns

Second Place - Fine Arts Challenge: Change of Tune
Students - Thomas Sanders, Caleb Biddulph, Sierra Biddulph, Noelle Saul and Sydney Reeves
Parent Team Managers - Yvonne Sanders and Carolyn Biddulph

Smith Elementary - Team AWESM Posse

Fourth Place - Scientific Challenge: Unlikely Attraction
Students - Jonathan Eaton, Lowery Asel, Evan Stewart, Jeanne Weber, Maddie Stewart, Madi Asel and Milla Martin
Parent Team Manager - Susan Eaton

Sparks Elementary - Team The Improv Iguanas

Third Place - Improvisational Challenge: Treasure
Students - Nikita Srinivas, Alessandro Amundarain Chirico, Malavika Kothapally, Anish Bhagyanagar, Heloísa Araujo, Ragini Malik and Mann Bellani
Parent Team Manager - Srinivas Pokunur

Vandeventer Middle School and McSpedden Elementary - Team Tech Builders

Second Place - Engineering Challenge: Drop Zone
Students - Sanvi Mathur, Ayushi Sahu, Manvith Obulareddy, Allen Lin, Shreya Saravana, Saachi Kuchu and Shruti Saravana
Parent Team Manager - Shally Mathur

Your browser is out-of-date.

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

At this time the Frisco ISD website requires Internet Explorer 9 or later.

If you are on IE 9 or later and are seeing this error then your browser may be running as a previous version.