First Round of FISD National Merit Scholars Named

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation has announced this year’s National Merit $2,500 Scholarship winners and corporate-sponsored scholarship winners. Amongst the Scholars are 28 impressive Frisco ISD students. 

The students first entered the 2022 National Merit Scholarship Program when they took the October 2020 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test during their junior year, which served as an initial screen of program entrants. In Frisco ISD, the PSAT/NMSQT is offered during the school day each fall at no cost to all 10th and 11th grade Frisco ISD students.

The highest-scoring participants, representing less than one percent of the nation’s seniors, were named Semifinalists. Of the 16,000 Semifinalists, 110 FISD students were named National Merit Semifinalists.

To be considered for a National Merit Scholarship, Semifinalists had to fulfill several requirements to advance to Finalist standing. Each Semifinalist submitted a detailed scholarship application that included an essay written by the Finalist and a recommendation written by a high school official. 

Scholars were selected by a committee of college admissions officers and high school counselors, who appraised a substantial amount of information submitted by the Finalists and their high schools. This included the student’s application, essay, recommendation letter, academic record, the difficulty level of subjects studied and grades earned, scores from the PSAT/NMSQT and all contributions and leadership on campus and in the community.

Only 15,000 students from across the country were named Finalists in the 2022 National Merit Scholarship Program.

Congratulations to these FISD student scholarship winners judged to have the most robust combination of academic skills and achievements, extracurricular accomplishments and potential for success in their future postsecondary studies. Scholars may use their awards at any regionally accredited U.S. college or university.

$2,500 National Merit Scholarship Winners

NMSC finances most of these single-payment National Merit $2,500 Scholarships and the winners named in each state are proportional to the state’s percentage of the nation’s graduating high school seniors. 

  • Sarika Ahire, Centennial - Computer Science

  • Shreya Bhandari, Independence - Computer Science

  • Xuanxuan Dong, Centennial - Healthcare Administration

  • Khush Gupta, Memorial - Computer Science

  • Biyanka Hati, Liberty - Medicine

  • Aryan Khatri, Independence - Computer Science

  • Vivek Kogilathota, Reedy - Computer Science

  • Yee Hong Pua, Lebanon Trail - Electrical Engineering

  • Raghav Punnam, Independence - Computer Science

  • Rushil Randhar, Frisco - Bioinformatics

  • Sujay Rasamsetti, Independence - Computer Science

  • Ean-Hawk Veluz, Heritage - Aerospace Engineering

  • Vagmin Viswanathan, Liberty - Computer Engineering

  • Ghazal Yadav, Independence - Neurology

  • Nithik Yekollu, Independence - Entrepreneurship

  • Chloe Yim, Independence - Law

  • Matteo Kimura, Independence - Computer Science

  • Champers Fu, Lebanon Trail - Computer Engineering

  • Charlie Zhang, Liberty - Surgical Medicine

  • Jennifer Zhang, Lebanon Trail - Computer Science

Corporate-Sponsored Merit Scholarship Winners

Corporate-sponsored National Merit Scholarship awards are financed by about 140 corporations, company foundations and other business organizations across the country. Most of these awards are renewable for up to four years of college undergraduate study and provide annual stipends. 

  • Ahmad  Elbeltagy, Wakeland - Neurosurgery

    • Amerisourcebergen Corporation Scholarship

  • Kelly  Liu, Liberty - Medicine

    • Motorola Solutions Scholarship

  • Pranathi Prasanna, Reedy - Pediatrics

    • Amerisourcebergen Corporation Scholarship

  • Piyush Rath, Heritage - Surgical Medicine

    • State Farm Companies Foundation Scholarship

  • Aaliyah Sherfuddin, Centennial - Healthcare

    • State Farm Companies Foundation Scholarship

  • Suhas Vakalapudi, Memorial - Computer Science

    • Pepsico Foundation Scholarship

  • Ryan  Zheng, Liberty - Environmental Policy

    • Jerry R. Junkins Memorial Scholarship

  • Krishna  Madhav, Lebanon Trail - Environmental Policy

    • Jerry R. Junkins Memorial Scholarship

NMSC will name winners of college-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards over the summer. By the conclusion of the 2022 competition, about 7,500 Finalists will have been selected to receive National Merit Scholarships totaling nearly $28 million.

Your browser is out-of-date.

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

At this time the Frisco ISD website requires Internet Explorer 9 or later.

If you are on IE 9 or later and are seeing this error then your browser may be running as a previous version.