Frisco ISD Announces National Merit Scholars

May 14, 2021

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation has announced this year’s National Merit $2,500 Scholarship winners and corporate-sponsored scholarship winners that include 16 phenomenal Frisco ISD students. 

This year’s National Merit Scholarship Program began in October 2019 when more than 1.5 million juniors took the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT) as an initial screen for this honor. The PSAT/NMSQT is offered each fall to all 10th and 11th grade Frisco ISD students during the school day at no cost to them.

The highest-scoring participants, representing less than one percent of the nation’s high school seniors, were then named Semifinalists. This included more than 60 students in Frisco ISD who were announced in the fall of 2020.

The 17,000 Semifinalists were analyzed by a committee of college admissions officers and high school counselors who reviewed the student’s scholarship application, which provided information about their academic record, participation in school and community activities, demonstration of leadership abilities, employment experience and awards received. Of these, 16,000 students were named Finalists. 

It is from these Finalists that the NMSC named approximately 7,500 Merit Scholars.

Congratulations to these FISD student scholarship winners judged to have the strongest combination of accomplishments, skills and potential for success in future rigorous college studies.

$2,500 National Merit Scholarship Winners

NMSC finances most of these single-payment National Merit $2,500 Scholarships and the winners named in each state are proportional to the state’s percentage of the nation’s graduating high school seniors. 

  • Sohm Chheda, Centennial High School - Healthcare

  • Lucy Huo, Lone Star High School - Electrical Engineering

  • Vibha Iyer, Reedy High School - Biomedical Engineering

  • Rohan Jagannathan, Frisco High School - Computer Science

  • Ramya Namuduri, Heritage High School - Computer Science 

  • Elizabeth Pan, Wakeland High School - Undecided 

  • Tom Punnen, Liberty High School - Neurology

  • Nidhi Sonwalkar, Centennial High School - Aerospace Engineering 

  • Laura Young, Liberty High School - Computer Science 

Corporate-Sponsored Merit Scholarship Winners

Approximately 1,000 distinguished high school seniors have won corporate-sponsored National Merit Scholarship awards financed by about 140 corporations, company foundations and other business organizations across the country. Most of these awards are renewable for up to four years of college undergraduate study and provide annual stipends.

Pavan Alluri, Lebanon Trail High School - Computer Science

  • State Farm Companies Foundation Scholarship 

Evelyn Chew, Lebanon Trail High School - Veterinary Medicine

  • New York Life Family Scholarships

Jin-Zi Danjul, Independence High School - Computer Science

  • Raytheon Scholarship 

Ariana Khan, Liberty High School -  Epidemiology

  • Jerry R. Junkins Memorial Scholarship

Srujan Mupparapu, Liberty High School - Computer Science

  • State Farm Companies Foundation Scholarship 

Akhil Vinjamaram, Centennial High School - Business

  • AmerisourceBergen Corporation Scholarship

Manisha Woodruff, Liberty High School - Healthcare

  • Jerry R. Junkins Memorial Scholarship

College-sponsored Merit Scholarships will be announced in July.

Your browser is out-of-date.

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

At this time the Frisco ISD website requires Internet Explorer 9 or later.

If you are on IE 9 or later and are seeing this error then your browser may be running as a previous version.