District Celebrates School Board Recognition Month

Jan 06, 2021

2021 Board of TrusteesJanuary is School Board Recognition Month, and the District wants to take the opportunity to recognize and thank trustees for their tireless dedication to the community. 

Frisco ISD is thankful for the Board of Trustees, which is made up of community members who volunteer their time to make the education of children in the community a top priority. While they preside at monthly Board meetings as the District’s policy-making body, they spend countless hours behind the scenes donating their time and energy to get to know the names and needs of students, staff and parents.

This past year, the Board guided the District through a monumental evolution of the education system, never before seen in our lifetime. Trustees have worked with Superintendent Dr. Mike Waldrip and staff to set the direction of the school district with the education and well-being of children as their primary focus.

Trustees are highly engaged in the community to build connections that benefit our students and schools. As representatives of the public, they translate the needs of students and families into policies, goals and strategies that reflect the standards and values of the community as a whole. 

The School Board has adopted 25 priorities that focus on everything from teacher retention and compensation to fiscal responsibility. These priorities are updated periodically to reflect the evolving needs of the community.

Thanks to their support, the District serves more than 63,000 students in-person and virtually, while continuing to embrace new ways to better serve students and their families. Trustees advocate on behalf of the needs of students and teachers across the state and plan to make numerous visits to the Capitol in the upcoming legislative session.

The trustees embody through their leadership that the community is #StrongerTogether when we focus on the needs of students.

This month, the District is especially thankful to Debbie Gillespie, who has started a new three-year term as a trustee. First elected in 2011, Gillespie is known for her servant leadership and jovial demeanor. The District is also honored to have a new Board member, Dynette Davis. Davis looks forward to serving the community in her new position.

It is with heartfelt gratitude that each campus is arranging for their own special tribute to our current Board members including President Chad Rudy, Vice President Rene Archambault, Secretary John Classe, Gopal Ponangi, Natalie Hebert, Dynette Davis and Debbie Gillespie. Please follow the social media hashtags #OurFISDStory and #FISDStrongerTogether to see many of the tributes in action over the course of the month.

Your browser is out-of-date.

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

At this time the Frisco ISD website requires Internet Explorer 9 or later.

If you are on IE 9 or later and are seeing this error then your browser may be running as a previous version.