Liberty Teacher Wins Inaugural Physics Award

Liberty High School Teacher Kenric DaviesCongratulations to Liberty High School physics and astronomy teacher Kenric Davies who has been named the inaugural Doc Brown Futures Leaders Award winner. This award, created by the American Association of Physics Teachers (AAPT), is a national award that recognizes early-career educators who demonstrate excellence in their contributions to AAPT and physics education and exhibit the potential to serve in an AAPT leadership role. 

“It means a lot to be recognized for what I am trying to do,” Davies said. “I love teaching, but this award recognizes the work I do outside of school where I have the honor of interacting with and teaching teachers.

“Students deserve high-quality content, and by leading workshops and presenting across the country, I’m thankful to have the opportunity to engage teachers in high-quality professional learning that ultimately benefits thousands of students.”

Davies has been extremely active with AAPT, where he has been in a leadership position with the Texas Section AAPT (TS AAPT) since 2018 and has given a number of oral presentations and workshops. 

Davies has taught in Frisco ISD for five years and has guided students on innovative lessons from the beginning. Since joining FISD, students under his direction have learned everything from how to build their own electric guitars to 3D printing and how to use sun-spotter telescopes.

He also spearheaded the collaboration of astronomy students and teachers across the District to create a scaled version of the solar system and place the items across the community. Read more about that initiative here.

“We are lucky to have Mr. Davies in our science department,” said Liberty Principal Ashley Rainwater. “I always enjoy going into his classroom and seeing kids actively engaged in learning.” 

AAPT stated that “It is not just his ability to run a vibrant high school physics program, to conduct excellent workshops and give excellent talks, to help run the TS AAPT, to make major contributions to the PTRA Texas and national programs, and to motivate students and faculty in physics, it is just as much about his intense interest in physics and physics education that he was selected as the first recipient of The Doc Brown Future Leaders Award.”

In the new school year, Davies looks forward to taking his students on a journey deeper into the curriculum.

“This year, I am hoping to leverage technology to do some awesome things including guiding students on how they can model motion with coding. But relationships come first and I look forward to building connections and getting to know my students.”

Davies will be formally recognized at the AAPT Virtual Winter Meeting in January 2021 and/or summer meeting in Washington, D.C. in July 2021. Click here to learn more about the award.

If you want to see Davies classes in action, follow him on his professional twitter account @Kenricmatics. Congratulations to Davies on his continued innovation and recognition! We are #StrongerTogether with teachers like Davies.

Your browser is out-of-date.

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

At this time the Frisco ISD website requires Internet Explorer 9 or later.

If you are on IE 9 or later and are seeing this error then your browser may be running as a previous version.