Congratulations to the 2019 Teachers of the Year

May 01, 2019

2019 Elementary Teacher of the Year.2019 Secondary Teacher of the Year.Congratulations to the 2019 Frisco ISD Elementary Teacher of the Year Misty Lewin of Pink Elementary School and the 2019 Frisco ISD Secondary Teacher of the Year Tyra Damm of Pearson Middle School.

The winners were announced during a special event honoring all campus teachers of the year at the National Soccer Hall of Fame at Toyota Stadium.

“I’d like to personally thank all of our wonderful teachers who do an amazing job each and every day living out the Frisco ISD mission of knowing every child by name and need, and going above and beyond in their line of work,” said Frisco ISD Superintendent Dr. Mike Waldrip.

Each campus named its own Teacher of Year candidate who participated in the District-wide selection process, which was based on criteria from Region 10. Each of the nominees submitted an application that included their resume and two letters of recommendation.

A selection committee took on the gargantuan task of reviewing the 72 anonymous applications and used a rubric to score the responses. The committee was made up of representatives from the Frisco Council of PTAs, Frisco Education Foundation Board, as well as business and community leaders.

Five elementary teachers and five secondary teachers with the highest scores were named finalists. The finalist with the highest score at each level was named either the Elementary or Secondary Teacher of the Year.

The 2019 Elementary Teacher of the Year Misty Lewin has made waves at Pink Elementary Schools as the campus Gifted and Talented Facilitator.

Since starting at Frisco ISD in 2006, Lewin has started a number of campus initiatives including a campus Shark Tank where students present individually developed products and business plans to local businesspeople.

“Lewin teaches with great passion, enthusiasm, heart and an enormous amount of energy that is infectious,” Pink Elementary Principal Danielle Record said. “She doesn’t simply teach, she makes it a priority to connect with every student to ensure that they understand that what they are learning and engaged in today will greatly benefit them.”

The 2019 Secondary Teacher of the Year Tyra Damm is a Gifted and Talented Integrated Language Arts teacher at Pearson Middle School.

“I am devoted to challenging and nurturing each student, with a focus on individual progress,” Damm said. “I share my passion for literacy, civics and healthy families with students, parents and colleagues.”

“Her innovative practices pique curiosity, provide tools for the future, and creates a safe place to take risks,” said Pearson Middle School Principal Jamie Wisneski. “Mrs. Damm allows students to follow and incorporate their passions into their work and learn more about themselves in the process.”

The eight other esteemed finalists for the Frisco ISD Elementary and Secondary Teachers of the Year included:


  • Angela Earp - Phillips Elementary

  • LeAnn Fene - Taylor Elementary

  • Trista Hough - Sonntag Elementary

  • Kelsey Newman - Isbell Elementary


  • Tysha Beaty - Lone Star HS

  • Carolyn Funk - Heritage HS

  • Abdulai Kaikai - Pioneer Heritage MS

  • Chad Wood - Staley MS

Each nominee received a Teacher of the Year Nike sling backpack containing gift items from sponsors and a commemorative personalized paperweight.

See the full list of campus nominees here who help shape the minds of children all over Frisco ISD.

Your browser is out-of-date.

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

At this time the Frisco ISD website requires Internet Explorer 9 or later.

If you are on IE 9 or later and are seeing this error then your browser may be running as a previous version.