Skip To The Main Content

Campus Teachers of the Year Announced

Dec 05, 2018

Frisco ISD announces 72 educators have been named Teacher of the Year or ToY by their campuses.

Nominations were made by peers and the campus principals used a democratic process to select the final campus winners.  Each campus ToY is expected to be in alignment with the District mission and beliefs.

Last school year Frisco ISD held its inaugural ToY awards program, naming campus Teachers of the Year, a group of ten finalists for FISD Elementary and Secondary Teachers of the Year, and the winners – Elementary ToY, Karen Anderson of Isbell Elementary School, and Secondary ToY, Vicki Baughman, a special education teacher and instructional coach at Trent Middle School.

Anderson and Baughman, along with the 10 finalists, were announced at a banquet in May of 2018. The two teachers were special guests at this year’s FISD Convocation and also took part in the Frisco Community Parade.

The process for ToY selection is based on criteria from the Region 10 Education Service Center. Each campus ToY participates in the District-wide selection process. Each of the campus ToYs submits an application that includes his or her resume, two essay responses and two letters of recommendation.

A selection committee reviews the applications anonymously and uses a rubric to score the responses. The committee is made up of representatives from the Frisco Area Retired School Personnel (FARSP), the Frisco ISD Council of PTAs and Frisco Education Foundation Board, as well as business and community leaders.

The finalists and winners for this school year will be announced in March 2019.

The 2018-19 Frisco ISD Campus Teachers of the Year include:

Michelle Smith - Allen ES
Lynell Addis - Anderson ES
Tara Dudley - Ashley ES
Laura Buckley - Bledsoe ES
Heather Pettke - Boals ES
Van Ridlehuber - Borchardt ES
Erin Endorf -Bright Academy
Abby Tennant - Carroll ES
Lynn Runnels - Centennial HS
Missy Kocher - Christie ES
Stephanie Conklin - Clark MS
Hannah Gestes - Cobb MS
Baylee Hensley - Comstock ES
Kelly Fitzhugh - Corbell ES
Shannon Sullivan - CTE Center
Jessica Rex - Curtsinger ES
Natalie Johnson - Early Childhood School
Tammy Stone - Elliott ES
Michelle Ewton - Fisher ES
Alayne Hill - Fowler MS
Wendy Wilson - Frisco HS
Carrie Burt - Griffin MS
Lezlie Stephens - Gunstream ES
Carolyn Funk - Heritage HS
Wendy Tamney - Hosp ES
Reagan Rogers - Hunt MS
Steven Doherty - Independence HS
Kelsey Newman - Isbell ES
Melissa Stafford - Lawler MS
Elise Swearengin - Lebanon Trail HS
Holley Mosley - Liberty HS
Bethanne Kanzler - Liscano ES
Tysha Beaty - Lone Star HS
Parrish Bruner - Maus MS
Tabatha Fahrney - McSpedden ES
Trish Parker - Memorial HS
Soney Day - Miller ES
Rita Yee - Mooneyham ES
Megan Hanlon - Nelson MS
Haley Walker - Newman ES
Sarah Ramos - Nichols ES
Jill Garza - Norris ES
Aimee Deckard - Ogle ES
Tyra Damm - Pearson MS
Angela Earp - Phillips ES
Misty Lewin - Pink ES
Abdulai J. KaiKai - Pioneer Heritage MS
Allison Brooks - Purefoy ES
Kelly Clay - Reedy HS
Bethany Foster - Riddle ES
Cissy Longfellow - Roach MS
Melissa Biscamp -Robertson ES
Maureen Salzman - Rogers ES 
Bonnie Pollock - Scoggins MS
Nancy Anthony - Sparks ES
Kensey Gates - Scott ES 
Heather Miller - Sem ES
Teresa Kozlowski - Shawnee Trail ES
Kaycee Drysdale - Smith ES
Trista Hough - Sonntag ES 
Julie Wood - Spears ES
Laura Koenig - Stafford MS
Chad Wood - Staley MS
Brenda Wesley - Student Opportunity Center
Laura DeVore - Tadlock ES
Sarah Khaleghipour - Talley ES
LeAnn Fene - Taylor ES
Kelley Pulis - Trent MS 
Julie Enderle - Vandeventer MS
Tomisha Broach - Vaughn ES
Nancy Segalini - Wakeland HS
Danielle Williams - Wester MS

Your browser is out-of-date.

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

At this time the Frisco ISD website requires Internet Explorer 9 or later.

If you are on IE 9 or later and are seeing this error then your browser may be running as a previous version.