Skip To The Main Content

Twenty-Four All-State Orchestra Students Selected

Nov 13, 2018

Congratulations to All-State Orchestra

The Frisco ISD Fine Arts Department announced that 24 FISD orchestra students were accepted into one of the the Texas Music Educators Association All-State orchestras this school year.

The process is a long and arduous one, beginning back in May with the release of two very advanced etudes or short compositions, per instrument. In late July, about eight professional-level orchestral excerpts are released for the students to then learn on top of all the additional/different literature for their school and for All-Region.

Only 400 violin, 350 viola, 350 cello and 250 bass players, out of thousands of student musicians, are accepted by audition to record for a chance to be a member of one of the All-State groups. Ultimately only 112 violin, 42 viola and cello and 32 bass musicians are awarded a position. It is an extremely competitive process.

These students will perform alongside the others chosen around the state at the TMEA Convention in San Antonio in February 2019.

Independence High School
April Chung, violin, Symphony Orchestra
Shalini Namuduri, violin, Symphony Orchestra
Simone LeFavour, viola, Symphony Orchestra
Colin Cha, cello, Philharmonic Orchestra
Jasmine Liew, harp, Symphonic Band

Lebanon Trail High School
Julia Olores, viola, Symphony Orchestra
Marian Ma, harp, Symphony Orchestra
Isabel Tu, harp, Symphony Orchestra
Kathleen Hopkins, harp, 5A Symphonic Band
Christopher Minn, harp, 5A Symphonic Band

Reedy High School
Yunbeen Bae, cello, Symphony Orchestra
Andrew Choi, cello, Philharmonic Orchestra

Heritage High School
Finnegan Powers, bass, Philharmonic Orchestra

Wakeland High School

Elina Fu, violin, Sinfonietta

Centennial High School
Nikki Naghavi, violin, Symphony Orchestra
Dennis Park, viola, Philharmonic Orchestra
Justin Kim, viola, Philharmonic Orchestra
Karis Park, viola, Philharmonic Orchestra
David Moon, harp, Symphonic Band

Liberty High School
Kaeon Cho, violin, Symphony Orchestra Jonathan Peng, violin, Philharmonic Orchestra
Nandika Chirala, violin, Philharmonic Orchestra
Geethika Bonthala, violin, Philharmonic Orchestra
Jacob Choi, viola, Symphony Orchestra

Your browser is out-of-date.

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

At this time the Frisco ISD website requires Internet Explorer 9 or later.

If you are on IE 9 or later and are seeing this error then your browser may be running as a previous version.