FISD Applause! Applause!

May 05, 2021

PLTW Students Awarded Scholarships

Several students in the Project Lead the Way Engineering Design and Development program at the Frisco ISD Career and Technical Education Center were awarded scholarships from Garver Engineering after vigorous rounds of competition. Thirty-seven groups of students presented their inventions to a panel of engineers who awarded scholarships to the top three performing groups. Congratulations to the first-place winners Seth McClendon and Cameron Rattler for “Car Safety Tool,” second-place winners Davis Anderson, Justin Humphrey and Abigail Ingle for “Shower Scalds” and third-place winners Tyler Salazar and Ethan Walker for “Stripped Screw Removal.”

Students Win State PTA Reflections Awards

Smith Elementary student Journey Parra received the Texas PTA’s Overall Award of Excellence in Film Production as part of the annual Reflections Competition. As a statewide winner, Parra’s film News That Matter advanced to the National PTA for the final round of judging. This year’s Reflections theme was “I Matter Because…”

Congratulations to these State Award of Excellence winners: Carroll Elementary School’s Sarah Caceres for Music Composition, Trent Middle School’s Rishik Kandukuri for Film Production, Liberty High School’s Joy Kim for Visual Arts, Liberty High School’s William Li for Music Composition, Pioneer Heritage Middle School’s Esha Shetty for Photography and Trent Middle School’s Edward LoCicero, who won two awards in the Special Artist Music Composition and Visual Arts categories.

Kudos to these students who won a State Award of Merit: Reedy High School’s Ayala Cockrill for Photography, Comstock Elementary’s Sanaa Dattan for Literature, Cobb Middle School’s Annelise Jordan for Visual Arts, Miller Elementary School’s Katie Sequeira for Photography, Reedy High School’s Suhani Swain for Literature and Norris Elementary School’s Nandita Sriram for Dance Choreography.

The full list of winners can be found here.

Girl Scouts Donate Cookies to Child Nutrition

Brownies Troop 4215Congratulations to Girl Scout Brownie Troop #4215 who not only exceeded their goals, but also raised donations for Community Cookie. They chose to donate their Community Cookies to the Frisco ISD Child Nutrition staff in recognition for their efforts in feeding students in the community throughout this past year. Thank you to Anna Cadowallader of Gunstream Elementary, Kolby Hibbard of Christie Elementary and Addyson Smith of Smith Elementary.

Student Wins Award for Leadership and Volunteerism

Madhalasa Iyer LHSThe National WWII Museum has named sophomore Madhalasa Iyer of Liberty High School as a 2021 Billy Michal Student Leadership Award recipient for Texas. The national honor is awarded annually to one student in every state who has maintained a strong record of volunteerism, demonstrates school and community activism and helps implement creative solutions to recognized problems. She will be virtually recognized at the Museum’s American Spirit Awards program later this summer. Keep up the great work!

Frisco ISD Students Place in Mockingbird Poetry Contest

Congratulations to the 13 Frisco ISD students who placed in the 50th Annual Collin County Poetry Contest. Each year, Collin County hosts a poetry contest sponsored by the Mockingbird Chapter of the Poetry Society of Texas. Students from all over Collin County enter this contest in hopes of writing an exceptional piece that is published in the annual Winners Anthology book.

First place winners include Wakeland’s Tanya Arya, McSpedden’s Sriya Mehta, Centennial’s Sanjana Putta, Lebanon Trail’s Rhea Rai and Mooneyham’s Mason McIver and Shreevanth Srirangam. 

Second place winners include Talley’s Shivani Acharya, Skye Barnes of Wakeland High School, Lawler’s Ananya Chitnis, Sparks’ Pranavi Gk Pushpala and Newman’s Callie Tubbs.

Third place winners include Miles Bedlan of Wakeland High School and Akhil Sista of Norris Elementary. There were also two students who received honorable mention. Click here to find the full list of area winners.

Your browser is out-of-date.

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

At this time the Frisco ISD website requires Internet Explorer 9 or later.

If you are on IE 9 or later and are seeing this error then your browser may be running as a previous version.