Skip To The Main Content

FISD Applause! Applause!

May 04, 2018

Annika Sobotka Earns Honorable Mention for DART posterDr. Waldrip receives PTA HonorJoyce Comstock

CTE Graphic Design and Animation Students Honored

Students studying animation and graphic design and illustration at the Career and Technical Education Center received several honors recently.

  • Hayley Spaeth, a junior at Centennial High School, took first place in the national Driving the Message Poster Contest by Teens in the Driver Seat and State Farm. Annika Sobotka, a sophomore at Lebanon Trail High School, received third place. In addition, Dan Nguyen, a junior at Independence High School, received the State Farm employee choice award and an honorable mention. Emma Dixon, a sophomore from Centennial, received honorable mention.
  • Sobotka also received an honorable mention in a poster design contest sponsored by DART.
  • Ethan Messer, a junior at Lone Star High School, had his animation selected in the top 20 of the EarthxFilm Online Short Film Competition.

Students Win Regional Track and Field Titles

Six FISD high school students won titles at the 5A Region II Track and Field Meet in April in Arlington. In the girls competition, the champions were Liberty’s Nissi Kabongo in the high jump, Heritage’s Bailey Lear in the 400 meters, Frisco’s Simone Watkins in the 100-meter hurdles and Heritage’s Brooke Shepherd in the 300-meter hurdles. The boys winners were Heritage’s Michael Schmuhl in the pole vault and Independence’s Terry Smith in the 300-meter hurdles.

Frisco ISD Bands Get High Ratings

Congratulations to Frisco ISD high school band programs for high ratings for UIL concert and sightreading performance. Read about it.

Centennial Senior Named to TASSP Academic Excellence Team

Jason Zhu, a senior at Centennial High School, has been named a member of the Texas Association of Secondary School Principals (TASSP) Academic Excellence Team. Winners of this prestigious award are nominated by their high school principals based on their SAT or ACT scores, academic grade point average, pursuit of advanced diploma and other evidence of exceptional academic ability. Each student nominated was asked to write a 300-500 word essay to submit with the application. Only 20 students from across the state are selected. Zhu will receive a $500 scholarship and be formally recognized at the TASSP Summer Workshop in Austin.

Mike Waldrip Awarded Lifetime PTA Membership

Congratulations to Dr. Mike Waldrip, superintendent of Frisco ISD, and all the other PTA volunteers and educators honored by the Frisco ISD Council of PTAs with lifetime PTA memberships May 3 at the council’s annual banquet. Thank you all for your dedication.

Area Director for Elementary Instruction Named Outstanding Doctoral Student

Christy Fiori, area director for elementary instruction, was named Outstanding Doctoral Student by the Teacher Education and Administration Department at the University of North Texas. She was recognized at a honor’s banquet in April.

Happy Birthday to Joyce Comstock

Comstock Elementary celebrated retired teacher and school namesake Joyce Comstock’s 90th birthday at a morning assembly on April 25. She was accompanied by Dr. Rick Reedy, another school namesake. Best birthday wishes to Mrs. Comstock and many more!

Your browser is out-of-date.

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

At this time the Frisco ISD website requires Internet Explorer 9 or later.

If you are on IE 9 or later and are seeing this error then your browser may be running as a previous version.