Skip To The Main Content

FISD Applause! Applause!

Apr 06, 2018

Ken Strong named Texas Project Lead the Way (PLTW) Engineering Teacher of the Year

CTE Instructor Named Texas PLTW Engineering Teacher of the Year

Congratulations to Ken Strong, teacher at the Career and Technical Education Center, for being named Texas Project Lead the Way (PLTW) Engineering Teacher of the Year. Strong was Frisco ISD’s first PLTW teacher and has helped grow participation in the program to nearly 850 high school students.

“His unwavering commitment to establishing and maintaining a top-notch program is only a part of his qualities,” wrote Travis Volk, assistant principal at the CTE Center. “Ken continuously challenges students beyond curriculum standards and invests additional time promoting the program.”

Strong was instrumental in helping the CTE Center earn the PLTW Distinguished School designation. Read more here.

Middle School Science Teachers Honored for Inspiring Student Success

Southern Methodist University and the Dallas Regional Science and Engineering Fair recognized four Frisco ISD middle school science teachers for their dedication and commitment to students. The teachers were honored for their efforts to guide, encourage and motivate students, as well as their ability to spark student curiosity, which enables growth and learning.

The honorees were selected based on the number, performance and success rate of their students at the Dallas Regional Science and Engineering Fair held at Fair Park in February. Congratulations to the following teachers:

  • Tony Bailey, Cobb Middle School
  • Ann Fry, Fowler Middle School
  • Jason Pearson, Fowler Middle School
  • Kelli Tenant, Pearson Middle School

Lebanon Trail Theatre Still in the Running with One-Act Play

Lebanon Trail High School Theatre placed second at the UIL One-Act Play Area contest for 4A schools on March 29 at Denison High School and advanced to the regional contest to be held on April 13.

Individual award winners include: Honorable Mention--Mia Wilson; All-Star Cast--Macy Butler; All-Star Cast--Olivia Hankins; Best Tech--Frank Ingalls.

Lone Star Wins 6A Division at TCU Jazz Festival

Congratulations to the Lone Star High School Jazz Band for winning the 6A division at the Texas Christian University Jazz Festival.

The following students also received Outstanding Musician awards: Grant Ellis, Gabe DeAnda, Babila Werema, Kane Rylander, Joseph Esserine, Noah Rodriguez and Megan Rugg.

Your browser is out-of-date.

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

At this time the Frisco ISD website requires Internet Explorer 9 or later.

If you are on IE 9 or later and are seeing this error then your browser may be running as a previous version.