Skip To The Main Content

Jeff Rayburn Nominated for Coach of the Year Award

Jan 04, 2018

Lone Star Football Coach Jeff Rayburn Nominated for NFL Coach of the Year Award

Lone Star High School football coach Jeff Rayburn is the Dallas Cowboys’ nominee for the Don Shula NFL High School Coach of the Year.

The NFL revealed the 32 nominees – one from each team – on Thursday. The award, named for the winningest coach in NFL history, honors football coaches for character, integrity, leadership, dedication to the community, commitment to player safety and on-field success.

“It is truly an honor to be nominated for this award, but the credit really should go to our players and coaches here at Lone Star,” Rayburn said. “They really make this such a special place to be and are the reason for our success.”

Lone Star finished 12-2 last season and advanced to a 5A Division II regional final. Lone Star had a 36-6 record over the last three seasons and was 5A Division II state runner-up in 2015. Rayburn has been the Rangers’ head coach since 2013.

Award nominees will participate in a special coaches’ clinic in Orlando in the days leading up to the Jan. 28 Pro Bowl. The nominees will also get a VIP visit to Pro Bowl practices and attend the USA Football National Conference.

“High school football coaches serve as role models for young athletes and their impact goes well beyond the playing field,” NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell said in a news release. “We are proud to honor this year’s nominees who embody the character, integrity and spirit of Coach Shula. Their commitment to improving the lives of students and developing young men of character is commendable.”

The Don Shula Award winner will be announced during the Pro Bowl.

Your browser is out-of-date.

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

At this time the Frisco ISD website requires Internet Explorer 9 or later.

If you are on IE 9 or later and are seeing this error then your browser may be running as a previous version.