Skip To The Main Content

High School Programs Win Top National Journalism Awards

Jul 28, 2016

Heritage Yearbook Pacemaker

Frisco ISD's Heritage and Liberty high schools were honored by the National Scholastic Press Association (NSPA) earlier this year with the highest honors in the country for student journalism.

The Pacemaker award is presented to high school journalism programs from across the United States displaying exceptional work in online, newspaper, yearbook and magazine publications or broadcasts.

These prestigious awards are unofficially known as the "Pulitzer Prizes of student journalism."

To enter the contest, schools submit their work to NSPA to be judged by Liberty Online Pacemakerteams of professionals based on the publication or broadcast’s coverage and content, quality of writing and reporting, leadership, design, photography and graphics.

Among the winners was Heritage High School’s 2014-15 yearbook, Within, and Liberty High School’s online news site, Wingspan. Students are led by HHS yearbook teacher Rebecca Pollard and LHS journalism teacher Brian Higgins, respectively.

More than 1,500 publications and broadcasts are a part of the nationwide NSPA community and hundreds of schools participate in its contests and conferences each year.

NSPA is focused on providing students, teachers and media advisors at the elementary, middle and high school levels with journalism-based education, events and community.

Your browser is out-of-date.

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

At this time the Frisco ISD website requires Internet Explorer 9 or later.

If you are on IE 9 or later and are seeing this error then your browser may be running as a previous version.