blue spacer

Frisco Retired Teachers on the Grow

Steve Blow speaks to Frisco retired teachersIn their inaugural year of operation, the Frisco chapter of the Texas Association of Retired Teachers is going strong. Currently the group meets on the first Tuesday of each month, September through May, excluding December. They meet at 10 a.m. at 6928 Maple Street in the FISD meeting and training facility.

Each meeting features updates on activities and a program speaker. The Program in March was Steve Blow, columnist with the Dallas Morning News.

With the leadership of Bert Isbell, the group started out with 12 organizational leaders and 25 charter members - today they have grown to 60 members. Through their efforts they stay on top of legislative issues, retirement benefit changes, and other various topics of interest.

The current officers are:
Pres.- Donna Patterson
1st Vice Pres. (membership)- LaTralle Thompson
2nd Vice Pres.(programs, PR, children's book project, pre-retirement seminar)-Betsy Daste
Treasurer- Sandy Hansel
Secretary- Charlie Mooneyham

Next year's officers will be installed in May.
Pres.- Joanna Quick
1st Vice Pres.-Charles Justus
2nd Vice Pres. -Donna Patterson
Treasurer- Sandy Hansel
Secretary- Charlie Mooneyham