blue spacer

FISD National Merit Semifinalists Announced (September, 2008)

George SuJeffrey Opoku-DarkoSydney CampbellChristian IbanezNancy Yuan


Vatsal GuptaCasey Deres


Seven FISD students representing all four high schools have been singled out for distinction by the National Merit Scholarship Program.

George Su of Centennial High School, Sydney Campbell and Christian Ibanez of Frisco High School, Nancy Yuan of Liberty High School and Vatsal Gupta and Casey Deres of Wakeland High School, have all been named National Merit Semifinalists. Jeffery Opoku-Darko of Frisco High School has been named a National Achievement Semifinalist.

Approximately 16,000 students from across the country were named Semifinalists for this school year and are eligible to continue in the competition for finalist status. About 90 percent of the semifinalists attain finalist status. Of the finalists, about 50 percent of those are named Merit Scholars and receive scholarship funds.