blue spacer

Service to District Honored(May 8, 2007)

service awardsEach year Frisco Independent School District gathers all the employees together – from the bus drivers to the administrators – and salutes those who have been with the district for 10, 15, 20, 25 and 30 years. This year there were so many employees, FISD used the spacious auditorium at Prestonwood Baptist Church.

Janice ScottThis year’s 30-year honoree was Curtsinger Librarian Janice Scott. FISD Board Member Renee Ehmke spoke about Scott, a beloved teacher and librarian, who is devoted to Frisco’s children. Ehmke, a former teacher, explained how she had floundered a bit with a lack of identity when she left the classroom to be a full-time mother. When her youngest child went to a pre –school program, Ehmke decided she could spare one hour a week with Janice Scott in the library.  It was her weekly hour of volunteer work with Scott at Curtsinger Library that helped Ehmke find her purpose and her calling to serve on the school board. “Mrs. Scott made me feel like my one hour a week was three hours. She was so appreciative!” Ehmke joked that she now knows that is how Mrs. Scott lures in her volunteers.

In addition to Scott, another longtime FISD employee received his service pin for 25 years with the district. Gary Sims, a former head football coach and experienced teacher, did spend a few years away from Frisco but returned and has now spent 25 years of his career in Frisco.

Receiving their 20-year service pins were Debra Purefoy, Sam Reiter, and Donna Self.

Fifteen year service pins were presented to Camille Bryan, Rick Burnett, Wanda Burnett, Kenneth Durand, Carlota Jeffrey, Ann Keifer, Jerry Littlejohn, Jackie McClain, Dianne Miller, Richard Oldham, Blake Vaughn, Edie Vaughn, Jim Wirwahn and Sandra Wirwahn.

Ten year service pins were presented to Liz Abbott, J’Lynn Anderson, Sylvia Bailey, Ricky Beeler, Pamela Bostwick, Denise Brewer, Ronald Budnar, Jamie Buzan, Kathy Cerpanya, Barbara Colbert, Melissa Fouche, Karene Goff, Susie Graham, Patricia Guerroero, Beverly Harris, Yolanda Herrera, Susan Hill, Eric Jeschke, Maria Juarez, Donna Karcher, Debbie Lair, Shannon Lanoux, Madelyn Linton, Karen Littlejohn, Barbara McEwen, Mimi McGhee, Olga Montanez, Penny Morgan, Robert Nickel, Vivian Radziminkski,  Connie Riley, Bob Rose, Kirk Ryan, Susanne Schaffer, Cindy Snyder, Tonya Strickland, Tonya Tapp, Tim Walsh, Richard Wilkinson, Barbara Williams and Linda Wood. June Waggener, Lou Snow and Terri Rausch were not present to accept their pins at the ceremony.

Superintendent Rick Reedy, who is himself now a 31-year veteran of FISD, served as master of ceremonies and enjoyed revealing several personal anecdotes about long-time employees. He was also proud to announce the names of several former students from his days as principal at Frisco High School and said that he was happy to claim them as his own.

Employees who have served the district for five years were honored at their campus or by their departments. This year the district honored 255 employees for five years of service.

The following people have also announced their intentions to retire this year: Georgann Higgins,

Anne Evetts, Mary Carolyn Hicks, Denise Mundy, Rita Poyner, Alicia Richmond,

Randy Vonderheid, Sally Walden, Becky Wood, Vicie Culberson, and Pat Hill.