blue spacer

King One of Eight National Distinguished Principal Nominees(June, 2008)

Betty KingBetty King, principal of Borchardt Elementary School, is one eight national distinguished principal nominees. The nominees have been announced by the Texas Elementary Principals and Supervisors Association (TEPSA). The school leaders are to be recognized at the association’s annual Awards Banquet this week in Austin. The award recipient will be announced Thursday, June 12, during the Second General Session of the TEPSA Summer Conference. The award recipient will represent Texas at the National Distinguished Principal recognition ceremony in Washington, D.C. this October.

“School principals are a key contributor to student success,” said TEPSA Executive Director Sandi Borden. “They are the instructional leaders who dedicate their lives to the academic, social and emotional well-being of children.”




The 2008 National Distinguished Principal Nominees are:

  • M ichelle Aubé-Barton, Socorro ISD
  • Kenneth Davis, Lamar CISD
  • Beth Dow, Lamar CISD
  • Dwana Finster, Calhoun County ISD
  • Betty King, Frisco ISD
  • Bertie Norton, Texarkana ISD
  • Rosie Prusz, Pasadena ISD
  • Stacey Voigt, Grapevine-Colleyville ISD

Each year, Texas recognizes one National Distinguished Principal from the elementary school level. Mentoring Minds and Horace Mann sponsor the Texas program. Criteria for selection of the principals are set by the National Association of Elementary School Principals and the U.S. Department of Education.

Since 1917 TEPSA has served Texas principals and supervisors. TEPSA has more than 5,300 members. These administrators supervise 153,000 teachers who direct the activities of 2.3 million PreK-8 school children.