blue spacer

Curtsinger Elementary Celebrates Blue Ribbon Award (December, 2006)









The students, family and friends of Curtsinger Elementary School gathered Tuesday, November 28, for the school’s official celebration of the recent National Blue Ribbon School designation.

The Curtsinger Choir performed the song “Curtsinger Elementary,” written by librarian Janice Scott, along with the national anthem. Special guests included Renee Ehmke, a member of the school board, and Collin County Commissioner Joe Jaynes, who presented a special proclamation to Curtsinger, naming November 28 as Curtsinger Elementary Day. Other Board members on hand were President Buddy Minett, Dan Mossakowski and Brenda Polk.

Principal J’Lynn Anderson outlined the process for the nomination, the application and the selection. To be nominated a school must be in the top 10 percent of the schools in regard to test scores, she said. Mrs. Anderson and retired principal Debra Carroll Boyce were both able to attend the ceremony in Washington in November to accept the award. Assistant Superintendent Debra Nelson presented Boyce with a blue ribbon paperweight in honor of her many years with the district and her contributions to the success at Curtsinger, which she opened in 1995.

The evening included video highlights of the trip to Washington.

The Blue Ribbon Award is part of the No Child Left Behind program and it honors schools for outstanding performance and for notable improvement. Curtsinger and Smith Elementary were both awarded the Blue Ribbon designation based on consistent outstanding academic performance. Smith will have its celebration after the winter break. Only 26 public schools from Texas received the distinction among 200 plus across the nation