blue spacer

Anderson Elementary Named Blue Ribbon School (September, 2008)

Principal Teresa WilkinsonAnderson faculty celebratesAnderson staff wigs outAnderson Elementary, located at 2800 Oakland Hills in Plano, is the third Frisco Independent School District campus to achieve the national Blue Ribbon Award. Principal Teresa Wilkinson received word of the honor on Tuesday and the campus began celebrating this prestigious award. Wilkinson and representatives of Anderson and FISD will go to Washington D.C. to accept the award in October.

Anderson was one of 26 Texas schools selected. In Frisco, Curtsinger and Smith Elementary Schools are also Blue Ribbon schools.

Anderson teachers created blue posters and donned blue wigs to celebrate the achievement. Students also joined in the excitement walking a paper “Blue Carpet” into school Wednesday as their teachers cheered.

“Our motto at Anderson Elementary is “Believe, Achieve, Succeed!” We strive each and every day to connect with our students and work very hard to help them achieve success. We are very proud and honored to accept this fine award for our school,” Wilkinson said.

In a press release from U.S. Secretary of Education Margaret Spellings sent Tuesday, Spellings announced that 320 schools were named 2008 No Child Left Behind-Blue Ribbon Schools, including Anderson. The No Child Left Behind-Blue Ribbon Schools award distinguishes and honors schools for helping students achieve at very high levels and for making significant progress in closing the achievement gap.

For the past 26 years, this prestigious program has honored more than 5, 800 of America's most successful schools.

"These Blue Ribbon Schools are an example of what teachers and students can achieve," Spellings said. "Now our challenge is to help other schools follow their lead by continuing to measure progress through No Child Left Behind, and by using the knowledge we've gained to replicate effective strategies and help every student improve."

The No Child Left Behind-Blue Ribbon Schools Program honors public and private elementary, middle and high schools that are either academically superior or that demonstrate dramatic gains in student achievement to high levels. The schools are selected based on one of two criteria:

  • schools with at least 40 percent of their students from disadvantaged backgrounds that dramatically improve student performance to high levels on state tests; and
  • schools whose students, regardless of background, achieve in the top 10 percent of their state on state tests or in the case of private schools in the top 10 percent of the nation on nationally-normed tests.

Under No Child Left Behind, schools must make Adequate Yearly Progress, or AYP, in reading (language arts) and mathematics. Each state—not the federal government—sets its own academic standards and benchmark goals.

A total of 413 schools nationwide can be nominated. This number is determined based on the number of K-12 students and the number of schools in each state, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico. This year's winners will be honored at an awards ceremony in Washington, D.C. on October 20-21.

Texas NCLB--Blue Ribbon School Nominees in Top 10% of Test Results

(With at least 40% Disadvantaged Students)

Campus Name



Ben Milam Elementary School

Dallas ISD

Ms. Anna Galvan

Centerville Elementary School

Garland ISD

Ms. Ramona Aguilar

Schulenburg Elementary School

Schulenburg ISD

Ms. Martha Skelton

Taylor Ray Elementary School

Lamar CISD

Ms. Diane Parks

Hartsfield Elementary School

Houston ISD

Ms. Joyce Williams

Peck Elementary School

Houston ISD

Ms. Carlotta Brown

Club Estates Elementary School

Corpus Christi ISD

Ms. Lynda De Leon

Bivins Elementary School

Amarillo ISD

Mr. Tom Panger

Landergin Elementary School

Amarillo ISD

Mrs. Kimberly Lackey

School of Business & Management

Dallas ISD

Ms. Edith Krutilek

Texas NCLB--Blue Ribbon School Nominees Showing Significant Improvement in Test Results

(With at least 40% Disadvantaged Students)

Harvard Elementary School

Houston ISD

Mr. Kevin Beringer

Shaw SES Elementary School

Corpus Christi ISD

Ms. Faye Webb

Slaton High School

Slaton ISD

Ms. Chris Kennedy

Liberty-Eylau Middle School

Liberty-Eylau ISD

Ms. Christy Tidwell

Pin Oak Middle School

Houston ISD

Mr. Michael McDonough

Texas NCLB--Blue Ribbon School Nominees in Top 10% of Test Results

(With fewer than 40% Disadvantaged Students)

Roan Forest Elementary School

North East ISD

Ms. Ruth Wayne

Shepard Elementary School

Plano ISD

Mrs. Mary Spickler

Anderson Elementary School

Frisco ISD

Ms. Teresa Wilkinson

Lakewood Elementary School

Dallas ISD

Ms. Michelle Thompson

Big Springs Elementary School

Richardson ISD

Ms. Denise May

Samuel Beck Elementary

Northwest ISD

Ms. Deborah McCune

Liberty Elementary School

Eagle Pass ISD

Mr. Rolando Salinas

Carnegie Vanguard High School

Houston ISD

Mr. Ramon Moss

Cinco Ranch High School

Katy ISD

Ms. Bonnie Brasic

Wylie High School

Wylie ISD

Mr. Mitch Davis

Boerne Middle School South

Boerne ISD

Dr. Janey Hunt