blue spacer


Curtsinger and Smith Elementary Schools Are Blue Ribbon Schools (September, 2006)

The U.S. Department of Education has named Curtsinger and Smith Elementary Schools as two of the 26 Texas winners of the prestigious No Child Left Behind – 2006 Blue Ribbon School designation.

Shirley J. Neeley, Texas Commissioner of Education, released the announcement about the 26 schools that were selected for the honor.

Neely said she commended the nominees for their commitment to students and that the 26 schools are “just a few” of the schools doing an “outstanding job educating students,” throughout the state.

Curtsinger and Smith were notified that they were nominees during the last school year. Then Curtsinger principal Debbie Boyce, who retired from education in May, and Matt Kimball, principal of Smith Elementary, expressed excitement at that time at the prospect of having the schools designated Blue Ribbon Schools. The hard work of the faculty and students at both elementary schools has resulted in this award.

A ceremony honoring the nation’s Blue Ribbon schools will be held in Washington D.C. on November 9 and 10.

U.S. Department of Education names 2006 No Child Left Behind—Blue Ribbon Schools (PDF)